Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Friday 15 March 2024



Plus booking fees


The Baths Hall



Mendelssohn Midsummer Night's Dream: Overture, Nocturne and Scherzo

Mozart Horn Concerto No.4

Dvorak Symphony No.9 'New World'

Adam Hickox Conductor

Alexander Edmundson Horn

Opening tonight's concert are three lively excerpts from Mendelssohn's interpretation of Shakespeare's A Midsummer Night's Dream, creating an energetic yet mystical atmosphere.

The four Horn Concertos by a young Mozart were written for his friend Joseph Leutgeb whom he had known since childhood. The composer clearly had the time of his life with the fourth, which simply bubbles over with elegant fun.

Don't mention the Hovis ad (if you can even remember it), because - with its great tunes, grand emotions and sweeping drama - Dvorák's Symphony No.9, 'From the New World' was a favourite with audiences the world over long before TV even existed. Dvorák was inspired by America, but he never lost his Czech accent and Adam Hickox, a conductor who is certainly one to watch out for, will bring out all the nostalgia (and joy) in the composer's much-loved melodies.